Popcorn!

I grew popcorn in my garden! I got bugger-all, I will be lucky if it’s a decent snack. Not sure if it’s low yield or just a bad year. Next year I might plant an entire bed out, I only seeded 6 and 3 died.

Maybe it’s not dry enough yet? Pop yield is pretty crap; Maybe 20% popped. Next year might try and plant at least 20 plants.

Corn on husk

ready to pop

20% popped 80% poked

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moon Over Martinborough
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 07:10:30

    Growing popcorn? How fantastic!

    Reply

  2. Jules
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 11:00:30

    I am growing corn this year too (see my blog) but not popcorn. I was told that you had to grow them in large batches, which was a big ask for me because I started gardening using the Square Foot Garden method. Apparently it has to be at least 4 plants by 4 plants (total of 16 plants – yum!!!) because otherwise it is too hard for the bees to find and polinate. Or something. I have a tiny garden at the side of my townhouse so I had to devote a whole plot to corn but am very glad I did.

    So well done with what you grew and if they were heirloom seeds, you can always save some of the best cob to plant next year. Whoah! Organic popcorn would’ve cost a fortune to buy too!! Good work.

    Reply

    • 1littlebird
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 11:49:28

      I never knew that about 16! I have about 8 seedlings that made it this year. Only going in ground now though. I am a very disorganized gardener.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

